A Disney Surprise

10 Jun

On Sunday, we left the Luxor around 7:30am and headed out to CA.  The plan was to hit up Downtown Disney and maybe the Pacific Ocean.  We loaded up on things to do so that we wouldn’t be bored for the day and set out for our 4 hr drive.

Look how pretty our drive was.  Not much to complain about!

Mountains*Please forgive the bug residue.

We got to Anaheim and were looking for parking with the hubs announced that we would actually be going into Disneyland!  It’s good to note that I had been nagging him to go since he decided it was too expensive for such a short amount of time.  While I agreed I still had hopes that we would get to go.

I couldn’t have been more excited!!!

MickeyAll-Star Game Mickey

Disneyland

Sleeping Beauty's Castle

Sleeping Beauty’s Castle

I didn’t take any other pictures inside the park.  I think I might have been too excited.  I had been to Disneyland in 2005 and because of the time crunch, didn’t want to waste any time when I could be riding rides!!!

We concentrated on riding things that we could not in DisneyWorld so that the hubs could ride them.  We started with the Matterhorn and then moved to the Finding Nemo ride.  This was not here last time I came so I was really eager to ride it.  Verdict: A little long and the story is a little disjointed but still a really cool experience.  I’m not sure it is a ride that I would ride often but I did really enjoy it.

Next we went and got a FastPass for the Indiana Jones ride.  This has to be one of my favorite rides!  If you aren’t familiar with Disney and FastPass, you can use your admission ticket and get a ticket for an attraction that allows you to come back at a certain time and have a shorter line.  So, while we waited for our FastPass to be available, we got lunch.  Not the healthiest of lunches, but I don’t like Caesar Salad so I had to get something else…chicken nuggets with apple slices.  I would have def. preferred a grilled chicken sandwich but all they had was fried chicken sandwich.  Grrr…

We then headed to Pirates of the Caribbean to see if it was similar to the one in DisneyWorld.  It definitely starts out different but then becomes very similar.  With a 10 minute wait, we couldn’t complain!

While walking to Indiana Jones, we passed Haunted Mansion.  I take real issue with Haunted Mansion at Disneyland.  Unlike the one at DisneyWorld, it doesn’t look spooky.  First of all…it’s white.  How is a haunted house white???  It used to be just a white house with big columns and now they have changed it to look like a nice white plantation home.  How is that scary?

Then came Indiana Jones!!!  After a small glitch in the ride that contributed to a few extra minutes in line, we got in and it did NOT disappoint.  It may be one of Disney’s best rides.  It is done so well!

Last on our list was Space Mountain.  This I remembered to be very different.  While it was different, it was not what I remembered.  But I was not let down.  The hubs thought it was much better than DisneyWorld too!  The tracks are completely invisible and all you see are stars.  We really enjoyed it!

Then we headed to Downtown Disney.  We wanted to be out of town by 6pm so we wouldn’t be driving too late.  Even though it was a really short trip and we didn’t see the Pacific Ocean, we were both really happy that we went.  All in all, I think if you are in the area, Disneyland is fun but once you’ve been to DisneyWorld it sort of pales in comparison.  I would say this: Disneyland isn’t really a destination.  If you are in CA and want to go, it is a really fun day but if you want the full Disney experience, go to DisneyWorld.

Thanks Hubs for taking me!

Leave a Reply

