Quaker’s Famous Oatmeal Cookies

12 Mar

I know what you are thinking…these can’t be that good.  Well…that’s where you are wrong.  These little cookies are surprisingly good.

Oatmeal Cookies

These cookies were also really easy.

Quaker’s Famous Oatmeal Cookies

3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar

3/4 cup trans-fat-free vegetable shortening (I used 3/4 cup salted butter)

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 egg

1/4 cup water

1 teaspoon vanilla

3 cups Quaker Oats (quick or old fashioned, uncooked)

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon salt (optional.  I did not use because I had salted butter)

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Heat oven to 375.  Beat brown sugar, shortening (butter) and granulated sugar in large bowl with electric mixer on medium speed until creamy.  Add egg, water, and vanilla; beat well.  Add combined oats, four, salt, if desired, and baking soda; mix well.

Drop dough by rounded teaspoons onto ungreased cookie sheets.  Bake 9-11 minutes or until edges are golden brown.  Remove to wire racks.  Cool completely.  Makes about 60 cookies.  Mine made a little less.

Note: teaspoon size cookies are really small.  I would recommend using a tablespoon instead unless you need to make a lot like I did.  Also, next time I make these, I think I will be adding chocolate chips!

Leave a Reply

