New Camera!

8 Mar

Well…new to me, anyway.  I have a camera that I love but it is just too big to carry with me.  My Dad has several small point and shoots that he is not using right now so I’m using one.  For some reason, the camera doesn’t take great pictures but it will work for the time being.  I’m just happy to finally have something I can take around with me easily.

So on my way out of the door this morning at 5:00am this morning to go work out…I snapped a picture of my race bib from Saturday.  Verizon was there giving out times and places right after the race.  It was very handy.  I hope that catches on!

Race Bib

If you look at the bottom, it shows my stats from Verizon.  There are two more races that are part of the Triple Crown of Races that I will be participating in.  They lead up to the Derby miniMarathon which I have been training for…sorta.  A few weeks into training, I injured my foot.  Apparently I have tendinitis in my Achilles tendon and in my heel.  It feels much better now but I lost a lot of progress on my training.  I feel very behind on training so when I kicked booty on this race, I was so pumped up!  I have never done this well on a race!

Unfortunately, after mile 2 my foot really started hurting.  That’s when I stopped to walk for maybe a tenth of a mile.  But since the doctor said that I will not make the injury any worse, I decided to run through it.  I am sooo glad I did.  I feel so good about the race and the mini but I sure did it feel it on Sunday.  I never had the chance to ice it on Saturday or Sunday so I was a little worried about how I’d feel this morning.  Luckily, I felt great!  I did another 5k (3.1 miles) but took it a little easier.   I had hoped for more but I always feel so rushed for time in the morning.  Gotta get my mileage in!!!

Can you find the similarities in these two pictures?

Anthem 5k

(Anthem 5k on Saturday courtesy of my father.  Included in the picture are my hubby and me, Dad, Mom, and Rachel)

Hot Chocolate

My Hot Chocolate this morning (with some Sugar-Free Hazelnut Syrup)

The correct answer is Morehead State Universtiy.  I had on a running shirt from Morehead State (got it for Christmas along with my MSU Tervis Tumbler~thanks Mom and Dad).   Morehead played Murray State this weekend for the OVC Championship.  If they had won, they would be going to the NCAA Tournament for the 2nd year in a row.  That’s HUGE!!!  Last year, we couldn’t believe that our little university that no one has heard of was in the NCAA Tournament.  We really couldn’t believe that they could be going back for a 2nd year.  Unfortunately, Murray one.  I do think it is good to note that Morehead beat Murray once this year and Murray is #1 in the OVC.  Still a great accomplishment and all the excitement made me want to use as much of my MSU stuff as possible.

Another team that did not win their game was Christian Academy of Louisville’s Women’s Basketball team (the hubby works there).  They lost to Mercy and therefore are not going to State.  We’ve been following them during the tournament and we pretty bummed when they lost yesterday.  But, the good news is that one of their players (#1 in the state will be playing for UofL’s Women’s Basketball team next year!).  Pretty exciting.  Can’t wait to see her play in the new arena.

Also, just wanted to give a little shout-out to my (unofficial) Big!  Lauren and I roomed together for a year and she is a very dear friend.  She had a bridal shower on Saturday night and while I couldn’t be there for the whole thing (it turned into a slumber party) I was so happy I got to see her.  Here’s a pic of us at my wedding:

Me and Lauren

Lauren is the one on the furthest left with the red hair (I promise that she is NOT naked although she looks like she is).  I didn’t have one of just us handy.  (The other girls from left to right: Kim, Me, Katie and Mandy).  But I love her dearly and I am so excited that she is getting married!!!

Anyway, gotta get back to work.  Hope you are enjoying all the beautiful weather.  I’m hoping to get to take a nice loooong walk with the hubby tonight.  One of my favorite things to do.

Leave a Reply

